Bridge to Nowhere

2_Bridge To Nowhere

“Bridge to Nowhere is part of my On Walking Dreams series, which is the first installment in the trilogy Within Shadows. This body of work explores the fleeting moments between dreaming and waking – the blurred seconds in which imagination and reality collide.

This image was shot in 2006, midpoint in the series On Waking Dreams. The images in this first part of the trilogy focus on my own dreams, which I journal as I wake, then shoot that very same day. To create the images, I recall a significant metaphor, contemplative moment, or pathway into the unknown from a dream the night before. I then capture the fading memory on film using details from my own imaginings to tap into the collective unconscious.

What is particularly remarkable about Bridge to Nowhere is that the final image is the exact vision I awoke with – not a metaphor or an interpretation. And it was captured only an hour after waking. The location where this was shot is a 30-minute drive from my home. So basically, I got out of bed, grabbed three of my cameras, put my dog Blue in the car, and drove (virtually half asleeep) to Santa Monica. A large part of my process is that I remain in somewhat of a dream state when shooting, so my best advice is never to be a passenger in my car when I go out to shoot in the morning.”

Susan Burnstine

 

1 comment

Leave a Reply

